World Wildlife Day 2018

Today is World Wildlife Day and this year we celebrate the Big Cats! There are many majestic felines that we don’t know much about so today search #WorldWildlifeDay2018 and find out more about lions, cheetahs, snow leopards, jaguars and all other big cats that are at risk of extinction. In celebration of the day, I did a painting of one of my favourite big cats, the Tiger.

WWD2018

Tigers are probably the first thing that pops into your mind when you think big cats. Currently classified as endangered, they are the largest of the Asian big cats. Tiger populations have dropped to dangerously low levels due to threats from illegal wildlife trade. Tigers are ferocious predators and popular targets for their bones and pelts. Unfortunately, 85% of these protective habitats don’t have enough rangers to protect them. This leaves them vulnerable to poaching and the illegal wildlife trade. It is my dream to see these majestic creatures in the wild so I encourage everyone to learn about how you can contribute to saving big cats around the world.

Published by Hiral

Hello! I'm Hiral, a herpetologist and conservationist with a focus on snake ecology, conservation and education. I am currently a PhD student in the Alexander Herp Lab in South Africa. My research focuses on better understanding venomous snakes and their role in snakebite. I was born in Zimbabwe, currently live in South Africa, and living in Africa has largely inspired my passion for nature and wildlife. My interests are broad, spanning from conservation biology, herpetology, technology, communications, field biology and finding new ways to save species and their habitats.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.